Students, faculty and staff to be recognized at MCC-Business & Technology ceremony

Dr. Jackie Gill speaks during the 2016 Awards Ceremony. Gill will provide the opening remarks and present several awards during the 2017 ceremony.

Dozens of students, faculty and staff will be honored at 6 p.m. May 11 during the annual awards ceremony on the Metropolitan Community College-Business & Technology campus.

During the event, which begins with a dinner, top students from each of the programs at MCC-Business & Technology will receive Technical Program Student of the Year Awards.

Those honorees are Anthony Crane, Industrial Technology; Amanda Ellsworth, Construction Management; Kyle Eslinger, Welding; Casey Flynn and Brendan Gee, Early College Program; Alberto Hernandez, Lineman; Kevin Jeffries, Computer Integrated Machining and Manufacturing; Kendrick Johnson, HVAC; Bryan Lamb, Cisco; Janet McCurry, Health Care; Danny Roberts, Transportation and Logistics; Joseph Saunders; Environmental Health and Safety Science; and Jack Spiller, Engineering Technology.

Other students receiving awards are Jacob Drentlaw and David Valdez, both of whom were honored by the Missouri Community College Association (MCCA) with Student Leadership Awards.

Ryan Meador, dean of student development and enrollment management, will recognize students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa and National Technical Honor Society, as well as those named to the Dean’s List.

Shawn Smith, associate dean, will present awards to each of the student groups on campus: Transport Layer (Computer Science and Networking), HVAC S.T.A.R.S. (Students Taking Action and Responsibility for Success), Arcs & Sparks (Welding), HiCline Club (Lineworkers), Environmental Health and Safety Science Student Organization, Phi Theta Kappa and National Technical Honor Society.

Dr. Jackie Gill, president of the Business & Technology campus, will present several awards, including the President’s Award. Retiring Chancellor Mark James will receive the honor.

Gill also will recognize Alice Blea, Tim Gill and Nancy Russell with Legacy Awards, which are presented to individuals who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the mission of MCC, goals of the campus and student success.

Blea is an administrative assistant in the OSHA Training Institute Education Center, Tim Gill a longtime instructor in Welding and Russell the dean and executive director of the Institute for Workforce Innovation.

Joe Roche, dean of instruction, will present HVAC program coordinator Cecil Davis with an award for receiving the MCCA Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Tatia Shelton, Career Services coordinator, will recognize three companies with the Industry Partner of the Year Award: Burns & McDonnell, Nestle Purina and MC Realty Group.

Shelton will receive a Staff Achievement Award for being honored at the Independence School District’s Academy Awards ceremony.

Other staff members being honored are Diane Belt and Ernie Webb, who were selected for the Extra Mile Award given to staff members who go above and beyond at work while striving to meet the college’s mission.

Jackie Gill will provide the opening remarks, while Steve Pankey, enrollment manager, will be the master of ceremonies.