MCC-Business & Technology’s National Technical Honor Society inducts 14 students

Fourteen students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society on April 17 at the Business & Technology campus, including 12 who attended the ceremony.

The National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) inducted its first class of students Monday during a ceremony at the Metropolitan Community College-Business & Technology campus.

Twelve of the 14 inductees attended the event, which included a keynote address by Dr. Jackie Gill, president of the Business & Technology campus.

Dr. Jackie Gill, president of the Business & Technology campus, was the keynote speaker.

“We’re honored to be the first campus at Metropolitan Community College to have a National Technical Honor Society chapter,” Gill said. “It’s vital that we have ceremonies like this one to celebrate the success of our students, who are at the very core of our mission at MCC.”

The event began with a welcome by Shawn Smith, associate dean and NTHS adviser, followed by Gill’s keynote speech.

The induction included a statement about the goals and purpose of the organization, as well as the colors (silver, white and purple), emblem, insignia and motto: “Felicitas Menti Instructae Favet,” or “Success Favors the Prepared Mind.”

Other activities included lighting candles, a pledge of membership and declaration, and receipt of certificate.

“We have wonderful students on our campus, and we’re thrilled that we can recognize their achievements,” said Smith, one of the organizers of the ceremony. “This is the first step in building a strong chapter of NTHS at MCC-Business & Technology.”

Ryan Meador, dean of student development and enrollment management, provided the closing remarks, while David Grady, faculty adviser and Computer Integrated Machining and Manufacturing program coordinator, also spoke.

Other speakers were Tatia Shelton, Career Services coordinator, and Tamara Huff, adviser.

The inductees were Timothy Collins, Christopher Dingwerth, Patrick Flynn, Jordan Fountain, Christian Hernandez, Matthew Hite, Daniel Hoge, Tirunch Kassaye, Ahmad Langsford, Keith Mansker, Thomas Niffen, Anne Owen, Ashley Raymond and Joseph Toomire.

The ceremony was sponsored by Columbia College, Northwest Missouri State University, Park University and William Jewell College.

To be eligible for induction into NTHS, students must hold a 3.0 GPA and have completed 12 credit hours in a career and technical education field.