MCC instructors and students receive statewide recognition

Award ImageIt happens every spring, and like with the burst of color popping from the trees and plants, the brilliant shine that comes with school awards season bring many a smile. And there are good reasons this year to grin from ear to ear for Metropolitan Community College, thanks to the annual nods from the Missouri Community College Association (MCCA).

The awards from MCCA are twofold.  These awards honor outstanding community college educators each year with the Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching. They also recognize outstanding Phi Theta Kappa scholars by naming them to the All-Missouri Academic Team. Additionally, MCC has the distinction this year of being home to the New Century Scholar, the highest-scoring student in the state.

First, the faculty

The Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Teaching are for instructors from each community college campus in Missouri for work done during the previous year.

The MCC honorees by campus:

Theresa Hannon
Theresa Hannon

Metropolitan Community College-Blue River

  • Theresa Hannon
  • English instructor
Mike Cline
Mike Cline

Metropolitan Community College-Business & Technology

Carlos Bass
Carlos Bass

Metropolitan Community College-Maple Woods

  • Carlos Bass
  • Art instructor
Zoe Albright
Zoe Albright

Metropolitan Community College-Longview

  • Zoe Albright
  • English instructor
  • “I am honored by the support from my colleagues and am very humbled.”
Carrie Pickerel-Brooks
Carrie Pickerel-Brooks

Metropolitan Community College-Penn Valley 

  • Carrie Pickerel-Brooks
  • Education instructor
  • “MCC-Penn Valley is the perfect environment, where I feel I get to combine the best parts of my earlier experiences.  I have students who are well prepared for college because of prior experiences, but I also have students who need some assistance in navigating the college path toward their teaching career.”

Second, the students

All-Missouri Academic Team Recognition: Missouri was the first state in the nation to honor outstanding Phi Theta Kappa scholar-leaders with a state academic team program.  The tradition began in 1994, and today 36 other states have adopted the idea.

Students are selected to be on the All-Missouri Academic Team by Phi Theta Kappa.  PTK also identifies members of the All-USA Academic Team; Coca-Cola Bronze, Silver, and Gold Scholars; and the recipient of the New Century Scholar Award.

Aubrey Kent, MCC-Blue River student
Aubrey Kent, MCC-Blue River student

New Century Scholar: New Century Scholars are the highest scoring students in each state. These students receive a $2,000 stipend and represent their state’s two-year colleges during the opening session of the American Association of Community Colleges’ annual convention. This year’s New Century Scholar is Aubrey Kent from MCC-Blue River. Read more about Kent in a March 2016 MCC news feature.

  • First Team: Members of the All-Missouri First Team receive a $575 scholarship.
    • Aubrey Kent, MCC-Blue River
  • Second Team: Members of the All-Missouri Second Team receive a $400 scholarship.
    • Indigo Gaydusek, MCC-Maple Woods
    • Chantal Ndifor, MCC-Longview
    • Timothy Sixta, MCC-Blue River
  • Third Team: Members of the All-Missouri Third Team receive a $275 scholarship.
    • Lindsey Bilbao, MCC-Maple Woods
    • Safia Ibrahim, MCC-Penn Valley
    • Charles Mwaipopo, MCC-Penn Valley
    • Leslie Reed, MCC-Longview

Instructors and students will be honored by the MCCA on April 13 at the Phi Theta Kappa All-Missouri Team and Excellence in Teaching Awards ceremony at Old Tinderhook at the Lake of Ozarks.

The Missouri Community College Association:

The MCCA is a statewide organization through which Missouri’s community colleges work together to advance common agendas.  MCCA provides advocacy, education, information, and networking opportunities in service of the state’s 5,700 community college faculty, staff, administrators, and trustees.

Other MCC award news for spring 2016:

Click here for our MCC news feature: Dr. Seabrooks, a named man of distinction, leads list of PTK honors for MCC