Phi Theta Kappa Chapter at MCC-Blue River Inducts 49 New Members

The Alpha Pi Sigma Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recognized nine mentors and welcomed 49 new members at Metropolitan Community College-Blue River in Independence, Mo., on Saturday, April 13, 2013.



Receiving the Glaux Mentor Awards in appreciation for dedication to students and their individual success were Paula Swope, academic advisor; Lynn Canaday, business instructor; Becky Schuering, mathematics instructor and Phi Theta Kappa advisor; Dee Mathison, speech & drama instructor and Phi Theta Kappa advisor; Hilari Holt, student ambassador; Stacey McMillen, mathematics instructor; Michelle Martin, professional nursing instructor at MCC-Pen Valley; Linda Nelson, Director of Teaching & Learning Support at MCC-Longview; and Anne Girdner, Business Office Coordinator.

To be inducted in the honor society celebrating academic achievement at two-year institutions, students must complete at least 12 hours of credit that can be applied to an associate’s degree while maintaining a 3.5 GPA. New members of the Alpha Pi Sigma Chapter are Gese Sao, Nikki Dixon, Shelly Hardin, Taylor Ballantyne, Helen Newport, Connor Bahr, Dyllan Ratigan,  Jessica Nguyen, Madeline Prall, Shelby Ngo, Laura Howe, Christyle Parrino, Jessica Brockman, Kalee Trimble, Levi Taylor, Alyssa Banes, Jazmyn Galusha, Finesa Kent, Ben Nelson, Spencer Carney, Melody Johnson, LeeAnn Marcase, Jessica Sanders, Regan Rigby, Hannah Lucas, Noah Lucas, Kimberly Svaglic, Emily McGhee, Rachel Walker,  Jeffrey Bloss, Kathryn Bedsworth, Tiffani Ohmer, Joseph Young, Krestin Rivers, Taylor Ishmael, William Morrison, Shayla Jarman, Tiffany Gannon, Kyla Ellyson, Lisa Keith, Meaghan MacKinnan, Stephen Baier, Kevin (KC) Simbeck,  Audley (Sonny) Hervey, Chanel Gentry, Brittany Hastings, Andriana Martinez, Kyleigh Fletcher and Desiree Libeer.

Donny Attaway was recognized for earning the Five Start Competitive Edge Pin.